Ministry Logo - ISKCON Congregational Development Ministry

Ministry Logo

The CDM / Nama-hatta logo has many different aspects to it which symbolise various aspects of devotional service to Lord Krsna:

  1. The circumference of the logo represents the Supreme Lord, within Whom everything is resting, and Who is inconceivable in that His energies are one and different from Him.
  2. The circumference is divided into twelve sections, which means devotees must follow the rules and regulations of devotional service for all twelve months of the year.
  3. On the four corners of the symbol are the four symbols of Lord Visnu: the lotus, conch, disc and club. Also shown are the four pillars of religious life: austerity, mercy, truthfulness and cleanliness.
    1. The top left contains an eight-petalled lotus, symbolizing the eight processes of devotional service, with the ninth process, atma-nivedanam, or full self-surrender, as the centre.
    2. The top right sector contains the sastras, or holy books. They stand for vedanta, the end of all knowledge, knowledge of the Absolute Truth. If bhakti is not accompanied by rules and regulations of sastra then it becomes a disturbance in society. These two sectors together make bhaktivedanta – the combination of knowledge and devotion.
  4. In the bottom left is the sankirtana party, performing the yuga dharma for the age of Kali, and the bottom right represents nitya-seva, the service to the Lord in the temple which goes on continually.
  5. The very bottom section of the logo shows the principle of parampara, where the spiritual knowledge is preserved by an unbroken chain of spiritual masters going back to Lord Krsna Himself.
  6. The far left sector shows the Lord in His form as Jaganatha, with His brother Baladeva and sister Subhadra. They represent the worship of the Lord in the aisvarya mood, or worship in opulence.
  7. At the top of the symbol, we see Sri-Sri Gaura-Nitai, Who represent audarya, or the mercy potency of the Lord.
  8. On the far right is Sri-Sri Radha-Madhava, the personification of worship of the Lord in madhurya rasa, or the mood of sweetness.
  9. Around the inner sector of the logo is a six-pointed star, the points of which contain the six items of surrender, namely; accepting everything favorable to devotional service, rejecting anything unfavorable, depending fully on the mercy of the Lord, feeling the Lord to be one’s only protector, full self-surrender and feeling oneself always meek and humble.
  10. Around the centre of the emblem is the Hare Krsna maha-mantra, with Lord Krsna in the very centre. This symbolises how the Holy name is non-different from Lord Krsna Himself.

Leave a Comment

Shopping Cart

Bhakti-vriksha Video Course

Scroll to Top